Home » Blog » How Valorant Ranked Works

How Valorant Ranked Works

Valorant Ranked

Since the launch of Valorant, Riot games have been refining their ranked system. Its competitive mode is one of the most popular playlists in the game, and ranking at the top of the ladder can be daunting. However, players love to test their skills and strive hard to climb the higher ranks. Due to this, many players are looking to get insight into how Valorant Ranked works so they can get the most out of it. If you’ve been wondering how Valorant ranked works read on.

If you are also wondering how the Volarant Ranked system works, here is good news for you. In this brief guide, we will cover everything you need to know about how ranked works and how you can eventually reach the top of the ladder. So let dive deep into it.  

Valorant Ranked Explained

Valorant ranks are distributed in eight different tiers, having three sub-ranks within them. However, the top rank “Valorant” has only one-tier. But you have to work your way through all the levels to reach the top. The ranks are as follow:

  • Iron I
  • Iron II
  • Iron III
  • Bronze I
  • Bronze II
  • Bronze III
  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Gold I
  • Gold II
  • Gold III
  • Platinum I
  • Platinum II
  • Platinum III
  • Diamond I
  • Diamond II
  • Diamond III
  • Immortal I
  • Immortal II
  • Immortal III
  • Valorant

Starting with Iron and ending with Valorant, there are eight tiers in the Valorant ranking system. Based on the expertise and level of skills, you can gradually climb all the way to Valorant.

However, as you progress through the tiers, your skills will be used less by the algorithm, and the win and loss will determine your rank. Besides this, you will be matched against players based on your rank, but remember, you can only party with people within six tiers of your rank.  

The best part about these tiers is that they all have different associated badges that help you identify the opponent’s level and skill. And with each rank, these badges get fancier.

 But if you have already played the beta, you would have probably noticed the change in the name of top rank. As the top rank has been renamed, those who are at the top of the ladder can now call themselves Radiant rather than Valorant. 

How does ranked work?

Like other competitive games, Valorant’s ranking works the same. To unlock the competitive mode, you must win 10-unrated matches, and once the mode is available, you are ready to roar. (Initially, the players were required to play 20 unrated games, but the new criteria require more dedication and commitment, which should help eliminate problematic players).

Besides this, before you get ranked, you have to play five placement matches. It is designed to allow the game to figure out the player’s performance and then rank them accordingly. Usually, players start with a pretty low rank unless they have exceptional skills and win all the placement matches easily.

In the beginning, when you are playing the placement matches the personal performance holds the key, but when it comes to ranking up in the game, winning games is what matters the most. So if you are consistently winning and topping the leaderboards, your rank will be higher. 

However, unlike the other competitive games, the ranking system in Valorant also depends heavily on how decisively you are winning or losing the game. The developer says this is because it “trusts you and your teammates have earned your way there.” Therefore, if you want to rank up, your KDA should not be your main focus.

Beware that if you don’t play the competitive mode for 2 weeks, your rank will be hidden until you play the competitive game again. However, it will not affect your progression in the ranked ladder, but the other people will not be able to see your position. Moreover, even if you go away longer than 14 days, your rank will not decay. 

Matchmaking rating in Valorant ranked

Similar to other competitive games, Valorant also uses MMR (matchmaking rating system). As per this system, each player gets a number based on their performance that adjusts over time. 

To increase the MMR, you must win consistently at your current skill level. However, the MMR does not always correlate with rank, but it’s an impressive scale to track down your progress with RR (ranked rating system).

If you have a higher MMR than your rank, you will gain More RR comparatively to lose for losses. In other cases, if the player has even MMR with his rank, he will gain and lose closer amounts for win and losses, known as convergence. 

To test if the players are better than the current opponent, they are placed on the low-end of convergence. And if the results prove that they are better, the players are likely to gain more Ranked Rating and converge with their MMR.

Performance-based Valorant Ranked Rating

To help players better understand the ranked progress, developers have also introduced a Ranked Rating System. Before this, there was only an up and down arrow to indicate the progress of players, but the performance-based RR shows players exactly where they stand.

Players can win RR points based on their performance. It means the better they perform in the game, the more points they are likely to get. As each rank gives the players 100 RR points, the more wins will reward them more points, and more points can result in promotion. 

I hope you’ve enjoyed this deep dive into how Valorant ranked works. We’ve got a bunch of articles around improving your rank but my favourite for market increase in your ingame form is How to Hold Angles in Valorant.

Leave a Reply